What Did I Just Do

This is my first post on this blog. I used to write on Runners World under the moniker mikeoffhisbike, since all the changes over there, I decided that if I was going to write, I wanted a new site.
I also decided that now was the perfect time to start a new blog, dedicated (mostly) to running, life and whatever else.
Why?
Great question, glad you asked.
I just made a huge leap of faith and took on a challenge which I am not entirely certain I can finish. I signed up for the Virgil Crest 100 mile endurance race, taking place in September. Since I took on this task, I wanted to document my experience and training, capture my emotions and share my plan as I attempt to tackle this beast of a course.
Virgil Crest 100 is a double out and back 100 mile race, with four 25 mile legs that goes over the ski hill region of Central New York, specifically Greek Peak in Virgil, NY.
There is over 20,000 ft of climbing over the 100 miles and a time limit of 36 hours. Looking at past years results, I may need every minute of those 36 hours to complete it. The course is so difficult that it only averages 20 finishers a year!

vcu-elevation_aid
My training to this point has been haphazard, a few 40 mile weeks, but mostly around 20 miles and around 1,000 feet of climbing per week. I had begun ramping up my training to get ready for the Marshall Marathon in November when this opportunity/ temptation presented itself.
I didn’t waste time ramping my training up though, starting last Monday I began by going after vertical feet and increased mileage, and I logged my biggest week in years, 61 miles and 6,200 feet of vert.
Basically my plan is going to be to destroy myself until the end of August with as many miles and vertical feet possible, then start a 2 week taper and give Virgil Crest my absolute best effort.
I have run an ultra in this area before, the Cayuga Trails 50 in 2013, which boasts almost 10,000 feet of climbing on another double out and back course. I finished in under 11 hours and felt good the whole race. I am hoping that I can recapture that feeling in September.
Anyway, welcome to my long boring blog about running, maybe in the future I will pull out the GoPro and put up some video and do some Vlogging as well.
I will leave you with a video of the song that was stuck in my head all morning during my first run of the day (A nice easy 6.5 miles with 400 ft of climbing). Foo Fighters – Long Road to Ruin

Leave a comment